Namibia's capital city, known for museums, colonial Christus Church & the Heroes Acre war memorial. Windhoek is the capital and largest city of the Republic of Namibia. It is located in central Namibia in the Khomas Highland plateau area, at around 1,700 metres above sea level, almost exactly at the country's geographical centre

The town developed at the site of a permanent spring known to the indigenous pastoral communities. It developed rapidly after Jonker Afrikaner, Captain of the Orlam, settled here in 1840 and built a stone church for his community. In the decades following, multiple wars and armed hostilities resulted in the neglect and destruction of the new settlement. Windhoek was founded a second time in 1890 by Imperial German Army Major Curt von François, when the territory became colonised by Germany.
Windhoek is the social, economic, political, and cultural centre of the country. Nearly every Namibian national enterprise, governmental body, educational and cultural institution is headquartered there.
Notable landmarks
Alte Feste - (Old Fortress) Built in 1890, today houses the National Museum.
Christuskirche - A Lutheran church opened in 1910, built in the gothic revival style with Art Nouveau elements. Situated in the historic center of Windhoek next to Parliament Gardens and Tintenpalast.
Curt von Francois monument in front of the municipality building. Inaugurated on 18 October 1965 on the occasion of the 75th anniversary of the second foundation of the town by von Francois.
Heroes' Acre
Independence Memorial Museum
National Library of Namibia
Reiterdenkmal (Equestrian Monument), a statue celebrating the victory of the German Empire over the Herero and Nama in the Herero and Namaqua War of 1904–1907[33] The statue has been removed from its historical place next to Christuskirche in December 2013 and is now on display in the yard of the Alte Feste.
St. Marien Kathedrale
Supreme Court of Namibia - situated in Michael Scott Street on Eliakim Namundjebo Plaza. Built between 1994 and 1996] it is Windhoek's only building erected post-independence in an African style of architecture.
The three castles of Windhoek built by architect Wilhelm Sander: Heinitzburg, Sanderburg, and Schwerinsburg
Tintenpalast - (Ink Palace) within Parliament Gardens, the seat of both chambers of the Parliament of Namibia. Built between 1912 and 1913 and situated just north of Robert Mugabe Avenue.
Turnhalle - neo-classicist building of Wilhelmine architecture, inaugurated in 1909.
Windhoek Public Library - built in 1925, next to the Alte Feste.
Windhoek Railway Station
Zoo Park - a public park on Independence Avenue in downtown Windhoek. The current park is landscaped and features a pond, playground and open-air theatre.

Travel News from Namibia


Travel Agency in Namibia

Hotels in Namibia